# sc | horry extra

### **Board of Trustees**



Elaine D. Gore District No. 1



Johnny M. Shelley District No. 3 President



Ronald H. Floyd District No. 5



Ashley Anderson District No. 7 Secretary/Treasurer



Freddy Thompkins District No. 9



Aaron C. Johnson District No. 2



Franklin C. Blanton District No. 4



Jody D. Prince District No. 6



**Eugene Harriott Jr.** District No. 8 Vice President



Kenneth Moss Co-op Attorney

# **Meet the candidates**

**THE MEMBERS** of the Nominating Committee, duly assembled, after giving full consideration to the district location, did nominate the following members of the cooperative as trustee candidates for a three-year term.



#### District #2 Aaron C. Johnson

*Incumbent* 1359 White Oak Lane Galivants Ferry, SC 29544

**AARON C. JOHNSON** and his wife, Teresa, have two children and two grandchildren. The Johnsons are members of Mt.

Hermon Baptist Church, where Aaron has served as a deacon, and in various other positions, for more than 30 years.

During his first term on the Horry Electric Board of Trustees, Johnson completed all three training levels of trustee certification from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (Credentialed Cooperative Director Certification, Board Leadership Certificate and Director Gold Certificate). In addition, Johnson currently serves as Chairman for the Horry County Council on Aging Board.

After retiring from Horry County Schools in 2009, Johnson entered federal civil service at the Joint Operations Center in Columbia. There, he worked with the South Carolina Emergency Management Division to plan, respond and manage emergency response for all hazard incidents, such as hurricanes, impacting South Carolina.

Johnson attended the National Emergency Management Academy in Emmitsburg, Maryland, where he graduated from the FEMA Fundamentals of Emergency Management Course. He is also a graduate of the U.S. Army Defense Support to Civil Authorities Course and the Operational and Strategic Planners Courses.

Johnson served in the Army National Guard and U.S. Army for 30 years, until his retirement as Colonel in 2015. He trained in many countries throughout his career. He was also deployed to Afghanistan. While serving in Operation Enduring Freedom, he was awarded the Joint Service Achievement Medal, the Joint Service Commendation Medal and the Bronze Star Medal.

Johnson is a graduate of Aynor High School (1978), Coastal Carolina University (1982-Business Administration), Francis Marion University (1990 - Masters in Secondary Mathematics) and Grand Canyon University (2006 - Masters in Educational Leadership/Administration).

Johnson is a member of the American Legion, Disabled American Veterans and Gideon's International. He's also served as a volunteer driver for the Veterans Administration to assist veterans in accessing medical care.

Aaron's personal interests include various fitness activities, such as biking, hiking and backpacking.

## sc | horry extra



District #4 Franklin C. Blanton Incumbent 6386 Maplewild Road, Nichols, SC 29581

**FRANKLIN C. BLANTON** has been a resident of the Mt. Olive Community in the Floyds

Township of Horry County for more than 70 years. He serves as a member, trustee, deacon and Sunday School teacher at Mt. Olive Baptist Church. He and his late wife, Nancy, have four children, eight grandchildren and one great-grandchild.

Blanton has successfully completed training through the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association to earn the status of Credentialed Cooperative Director. He has also earned a Board Leadership Certificate and a Director Gold Certificate from NRECA. He currently serves as a trustee on the Central Electric Power Cooperative Board as Horry Electric Cooperative's representative. He previously served as a board member for The Electric Cooperatives of South Carolina.

An active member of the community, Blanton currently serves as a board member for the Coastal Carolina University Education Foundation and as a member of the Charleston Southern University Board of Visitors.

Blanton's previous community involvement includes serving in the past as President of the Loris Civitan Club; Lt. Gov. and Deputy Gov. of the Civitan Clubs of South Carolina; President of the Loris Merchants Association; Chairman of the Horry County Board of Education; Director of the Loris Healthcare Commission; and as an advisory board member for McLeod Loris-Seacoast Hospitals. He was appointed by Gov. David Beasley to serve on the first Ride 1 committee (Ride Improvement & Development Effort) for Highway 22. Blanton also served with Horry County Ride 111 to make recommendations for needed funds to upgrade roads in Horry County. He was the organizing Chairman for the founding of Horry County State Bank and served as President of the Independent Building Supply Association based in Smithfield, North Carolina.

Blanton has received many honors, including the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Loris Chamber of Commerce; Loris Chamber Merchant of the Year; "A Friend of Education" acknowledgement by the Horry County Education Association; All State Board of South Carolina; Community Leadership awards from the Woodmen of the World, as well as Horry County Soil and Water Conservation District; and Distinguished Service Award from the Civitan Clubs of South Carolina.

A 1962 graduate of Floyds High School, Blanton earned a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from Campbell University in 1968. He currently serves as President of Blanton Supplies, Inc. in Loris and President of Blanton Supplies of Little River, Inc., both dealing with retail sales of building materials.



District #6

Jody D. Prince Incumbent 3090 Graceland Road, Loris, SC 29569

JODY D. PRINCE and his wife of 27 years, Renee, live in the Mt. Vernon Community

and are members of Mt. Vernon Baptist Church. They have one daughter, Kassidy.

Jody is the owner of Coastal Carolina Remediation and is a licensed asbestos abatement contractor in both North and South Carolina.

Prince previously served eight years as an Horry County Councilman for District 10. During his tenure, he served in several positions, including County Council Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Infrastructure and Regulation Committee. He sat on the Public Safety Committee and the Interstate Railroad Committee. He also served on the Board of Directors for the Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments, which fosters regional programs to support the three-county region it serves.

Prince currently serves as Horry County Planning Commissioner for District 10, Sales Tax Commissioner for RIDE IV and sits on the Board of Trustees for the Mt. Vernon Community Center. He is a Past Master and current member of the Loris Masonic Lodge #205. He is also an Omar Shriner. He's a member of the Loris Blue Pride, which provides support to Loris High School student athletes.

Prince has successfully completed training through the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association to earn the status of Credentialed Cooperative Director. He has also earned a Board Leadership Certificate and a Director Gold Certificate from NRECA.

